College of Business Faculty Forum

Friday, October 11, 2019, BB 2.01.18, 2:00 p.m.

Attending: Thomas Thomson, Elaine Sanders, Sharad Asthana, Jeff Boone, Harrison Liu, Dennis Lopez, Juan Mao, Manuel Sanchez, Pamela Smith, Patrick Lee, Daniel Hollas, Onur Bayar, Palani- Rajan Kadapakkam, John Wald, Zijun Wang, Vipin Agrawal, Glen Dietrich, Kevin Grant, Hejamadi Rao, Anthony Rios, Rohit Valecha, Robert Castaneda, James Huddleston, Robert Kaufman, William Pugh, Yvette Sands, Paul Rad, Linda Shepherd, Marco Villarreal, Karen Williams, Xiaolu Zhang, Ray Teske, Jonathan Clark, Stewart Miller, Bruce Rudy, Jerome Keating, Mark Leung, Anuradha Roy, Daniel Sass, Minghe Sun, Ram Tripathi, Deepa Wani, Kefeng Xu, Suman Basuroy, Daniel Davied, Phil Menard, keying Ye, Min Wang, Karan Bhanot, Yinlong Zhang, Jennifer Yin, Shelly Ye, Edgar Ghossoub, K.K. Raman, Gerry Sanders, Rick Utecht

- I. Dr. Thomas Thomson called the Faculty Forum to order.
- II. Approval of minutes Dr. Thomas Thomson. Minutes of the Oct. 5, 2018 meeting were approved.
- III. Workload Policy Review was moved up from Graduate Faculty Forum Agenda
 - a. Dr. Dan Hollas explained the background and timeline for the proposed Workload Policy Revisions. A COB Workload Revisions Committee has been formed and will meet next week to discuss the COB responses a copy of the proposed revisions will be sent to all COB faculty this afternoon. Please review and send your comments to your department Faculty Senator, Dr. Dan Hollas or Dr. Elaine Sanders.
 - b. Dr. Karen Williams gave a brief summary of the Faculty Senate comments on the Workload Policy revisions.
- IV. Dean's Report by Dean Gerry Sanders
 - a. Each department introduced their new faculty.
 - b. Enrollment update COB enrollments have increased 19.8% over the 2016-2019 period. Other colleges have only increased 8.1%.
 - c. Research update COB was ranked 98th in North America based on the UT Dallas study. The Marketing Department was ranked 50th and the Management Department was ranked 87th.
 - d. External Funding update the ISCS Department was among the highest recipients of external funding awards among departments in COBs.
 - e. Faculty Compensation Review This fall semester, HR has been engaged to complete both a market comparison and an updated internal equity study. The results will be presented to the Provost

this spring with recommended adjustments

- V. Introduction of Student Success Staff Dr. Kevin Grant explained that AACSB looks closely at engagement, innovation, and impact the student success staff work closely to create partnerships and opportunities to enhance student success, including the CAP Program, registered Business Student Organizations, Distinguished Scholars Program, Business Honors Program, and opportunities for undergraduate research and service learning.
 - a. Erica Clark Assistant Director, COB International Engagement
 - b. Nancy Scott Jones Associate Director of Employer Relations
 - c. Julio (Joey) Ramos Associate Director of Student Engagement
 - d. Amy Laun Director of the Center for Student Professional Development
 - e. Danielle Gawronski Assistant Director for Career Development
 - f. Dr. Rita Mitra Director, COB Information Systems
 - g. Kathy Pope Director, Data Governance
 - h. Kyo Koo Director of Educational Technology
 - i. Rosa Garza-Girdy Assistant Dean
- VI. SECC Update Dr. Karen Williams reminded us that the SECC annual campaign is underway and will run until November 1. October 15 is the Challenge date with UT Health to see who can raise the most donations in one day, so please consider making your pledge on that day.
- VII. New Business election of officers for 2020 Dr. Thomas Thomson
 - a. Chair Dr. Thomas Thomson was re-elected chair
 - b. Secretary Dr. Karen Williams was elected secretary
 - c. Parliamentarian Dr. Ray Teske was elected parliamentarian
- VIII. Adjournment the Undergraduate Faculty Forum was adjourned at 3:07 pm.

College of Business Graduate Faculty Forum October 11, 2019

- I. Dr. Elaine Sanders called the Graduate Faculty Forum to order.
- II. Changes to the COB By-laws were presented and voted on as follows:
 - a. MDA presented by Dr. Dan Davied; vote for changes was approved.
 - b. MSB- presented by Dr. Dan Davied; vote for changes was approved.
 - c. EMBA presented by Dr. Bruce Rudy; vote for changes was approved.
- III. Graduate Programs enrollment update Dr. Juan Manuel Sanchez provided an update for the Master's programs.
- IV. Ph.D. Program update Dr. Juan Manuel Sanchez
 - a. 6% increase in Ph.D. enrollment
 - b. Increase in use of the Ph.D. Excellence Fund for doctoral student travel in terms of both funds available and allocations to students since starting in Fall 2017

- c. Placement of graduating Ph.D. students was reported
- V. Graduate Council update Dr. Elaine Sanders
 - a. Graduate Council Bylaws change Dr. Sanders explained the recent changes to the Graduate Council bylaws that established two categories of Graduate Faculty. Designation of Graduate Faculty Scholars and Graduate Faculty Members was designed to support advancement in pursuit of N-RUF status. Potential concerns/conflicts with wording in the proposed Workload Policy Revisions have been noted and the Graduate Council will clarify and present to the Faculty Senate again for approval.
 - b. ELAP Currently mandatory testing is required even for applicants who meet the 79-100 threshold score. The approved change would require only those who score below the university minimum to take the ELAP.
 - c. Grade Point Average The approved change would not require GPA calculations for applicants above a 3.0 GPA. Only applicants with a GPA below 3.0 would require GPA calculations, streamlining the application process.
 - d. Incompletes Incompletes for graduate students will automatically convert to a F after one year, consistent with the undergraduate policy. Graduate students will be able to graduate with an Incomplete on their transcript. The change will not be applied retroactively.
- VI. Unfinished Business No unfinished business to transact.
- VII. New Business election of Chair for 2020 Dr. Elaine Sanders was re- elected Chair.
- VIII. Adjournment the Graduate Faculty Forum was adjourned.